9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(386) 433-4022
menu item params = 0
global menu param =


The top 20 of the highest-scoring student/trainee abstract submissions will be featured as finalists in the NNS Trainee Competition and displayed for the duration of the conference.  The Trainee Competition Finalists will receive their final judging onsite at the conference during the first Poster Session from 5:00-6:30 PM on Monday, July 1. 

Scores will be tabulated to determine the winners of the competition. In the event of a tie, judges will refer to the original scores for the tiebreaker.  All judges decisions are final. All poster finalists will receive a certificate and recognition onstage as part of the Student Competition Awards Ceremony.

The Trainee Competition Finalists for Neurotrauma 2019 are:

Abstract  Program  Presenting Author University Title
10396 T01-01 Margo Randelman Drexel University College of Medicine Respiratory Training with Intermittent Hypercapnia to Enhance Plasticity Following Cervical Spinal Cord Injury
10207 T01-02 Heather Bouchard Duke University Resting-State Functional Connectivity in U.S. Veterans with Subconcussive Blast Exposure
10263 T01-03 Nikolaos Ziogas Johns Hopkins University SOM Targeting SARM1-dependent axonal degeneration preserves neural connectivity and improves functional outcomes after TBI.
10362 T01-04 Owen Leary Rhode Island Hospital Volume of SDH & EDH Measured by Computer-Assisted Estimation Is More Predictive of Mortality and Functional Disability than ABC/2
10281 T01-05 Alex Morin Roskamp Institute Beneficial effects of delayed post injury treatment with Anatabine in a mouse model of r-mTBI
10167 T01-06 Qi Han Stark Neurosciences Research Reversing Injury-induced Energy Deficits Promotes  CNS Axonal Regeneration and Functional Recovery after Spinal Cord Injuries
10302 T01-07 Chelsea Bray The Ohio State University Diffuse TBI causes Microglia-Dependent Neuronal Dysfunction and Impaired Axonal Conduction
10127 T01-08 Rebecca Henry UMB microglia depletion and repopulation during the chronic stages of traumatic brain injury  improves long-term neurological recovery
10330 T01-09 Ali Izadi University of California Davis Deep Brain Theta Stimulation Results in Lasting Cognitive Improvements following Fluid Percussion Injury
10238 T01-10 Sean Collins University of Cincinnati Altered serotonin signaling and aberrant social behaviors stemming from blast-induced traumatic brain injury
10293 T01-11 Yueqiang Fu University of Florida Reverse translational approach on using neuroimaging and blood-based precision biomarkers as endpoint assessments for TBI subpheno
10390 T01-12 Brittany Todd University of Iowa Rapid astrocyte activation following juvenile TBI is an important source of inflammatory mediators
10370 T01-13 Hemendra Vekaria University of Kentucky Activation of mitochondrial biogenesis as a therapeutic approach for the treatment of traumatic brain injury
10094 T01-14 Junyun He University of Maryland Baltimore The voltage-gated proton channel Hv1 impairs recovery after traumatic brain injury through altered microglia/macrophage responds
10254 T01-15 Tuoxin Cao University of Maryland SOM Sexual divergent responses of neuroinflammation and functional recovery to spinal cord injury 
10365 T01-16 John Arena University of Pennsylvania A New Understanding of the Phenotype and Distribution of Tau Pathology in Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy
10291 T01-17 Kryshawna Beard University of Pennsylvania Extracellular vesicles as diagnostic and prognostic biomarkers of traumatic brain injury
10178 T01-18 Erin Anderson University of Pennsylvania Predicting Concussion Outcome Using Finite Element Modeling and Network Analysis
10210 T01-19 Sushupta Vijapur University of Pittsburgh Lymphocyte and BDNF Associations with Risk for Persistent Hypogonadotropic Hypogonadism 
10328 T01-20 Akshata Korgaonkar Washington University AirySynapse—a novel super-resolution imaging technique to study immune-mediated traumatic synaptic injury 


  • Michael Goldberger Award
  • Murray Goldstein Award
  • TEAM Award
  • Alan Faden Award
  • Anthony Marmarou Award
  • David Hovda Research Excellence Award

To encourage presentation of high quality basic science and clinical research at the National Neurotrauma Society Meeting, six awards will be offered for the top Trainee Poster Competition finalists with the highest onsite judging scores.  All Student Competition finalists will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony.  

The Trainee Poster Competition winners will receive:

  • An engraved art glass award 
  • $500 cash award from the National Neurotrauma Society

Abstracts selected for presentation (either oral or poster) will be published in the Journal of Neurotrauma June issue.  Judging will occur during the first Poster Session on Monday.  

Awards will be presented at the Trainee Poster Competition Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, July 3 from 9:00-9:30 AM. 

All trainee poster competition finalists are required to be present at the ceremony.